True Willamette Valley

Where distinction is grown.

Willamette Valley

About the Willamette Valley

The Willamette Valley, Oregon’s oldest wine region, has two-thirds of the state’s wineries and vineyards and is home to more than 700 wineries. Framed by the Coast Range to the west and Cascades to the east, it is recognized as one of the premier winegrowing regions in the world. At 150 miles long it offers a wine experience for every visitor.

Andrea Johnson

Renowned. Innovative. Collective.

The Willamette Valley is a vast and varied appellation that includes eleven nested AVAs: Chehalem Mountains, Dundee Hills, Eola-Amity Hills, Laurelwood District, Lower Long Tom, McMinnville, Mount Pisgah, Polk County, Oregon, Ribbon Ridge, Tualatin Hills, Van Duzer Corridor, and Yamhill-Carlton.

At its widest point, this long, broad valley spans sixty miles. Protected from cold Pacific Ocean air and rainstorms on the west by the Coast Range mountains, the Valley follows the Willamette River for more than a hundred miles from the Columbia River near Portland to just south of Eugene. The Cascade Range to the east forms a natural boundary and protects against the opposite extreme: the dry, desert-like climate of eastern Oregon. Overall, the climate boasts a long, gentle growing season: warm summers with cool evenings, a long and lovely autumn with the first rainfalls of winter amid plenty of sunny days, and mild winters followed by long springs. In addition to the flagship Pinot noir grape, wineries also produce Pinot gris, Pinot blanc, Chardonnay, Riesling, Melon, Gewürztraminer, sparkling wine, Sauvignon blanc, Syrah, and Gamay, among other lesser-known varieties.

The Willamette Valley wineries are a popular tourist destination, with the area boasting a luxury destination resort, several high-end inns and many bed & breakfasts. The Valley also offers a long list of fine dining restaurants. From Portland in the north or Eugene in the south, tourists can visit the Willamette Valley winery of their choice in anywhere from 10 minutes to two hours.

Keep exploring

Willamette Valley Wineries Association

The Willamette Valley AVA is universally recognized as the premier New World winegrowing region. We are Pinot noir and so much more.

Willamette Valley Visitors Association

Tasting Room Directory

Explore tasting rooms in the Willamette Valley.

Two Day Itineraries

Where to eat, drink, and play for two days in Willamette Valley wine country.

Dig deeper

A graphic map of the Willamette Valley AVA
  • Established: 1983
  • Total Area: 3,428,800 acres (1,387,600 ha)
  • Planted Area: 25,450 acres (10,300 ha)
  • Predominant Varieties: Pinot noir, Pinot gris, Chardonnay, Riesling
  • Predominant Soils: Marine sedimentary, volcanic, loess

Follow along @wvwines


A graphic with the state outline of Oregon on the left side and a rectangle that says True Willamette Valley on the right side.

The Willamette Valley AVA is an appellation of origin defined by federal rule, for use in wine labeling and marketing solely in accordance with applicable state and federal rules.